On behalf of the Organising Committee of the XXIX Congress of the Scandinavian Transplant Society, STS 2018 it is a great pleasure to welcome delegates to Oslo, Norway, May 2nd-4th 2018.

The Nordic countries have a long and successful history of cooperation within the field of organ transplantation through Scandiatransplant as our common organisation. The outcomes for organ transplanted patients in the Scandiatransplant member countries are excellent and waiting times and wait list mortality are lower than in most comparable countries.

Every second year, the Scandinavian Transplant Society arranges a meeting that constitutes an opportunity for contact, cooperation and mutual learning. At the congress, state-of-the-art lectures from a wide range of contemporary topics will be presented, including genetics in solid organ transplantation, the safety of procuring organs from living donors, adherence to immunosuppression, as well as malignancy, antibody mediated rejection and infections after organ transplantation. Moreover, at this conference there will be focus on organ donation after circulatory death, and many related practical and ethical issues will be discussed both in plenary sessions and in a parallel session particularly dedicated to organ donation. There will be invited international and Nordic speakers as well as a wide presentation of current research projects in abstract sessions.

The Presidents Dinner will be an unforgettable experience at one of the best seafood restaurants in Oslo, and it will provide a unique possibility for informal contact with international and Nordic experts, colleagues and friends who are dedicated to their work in the field of solid organ transplantation.

The Local Organizing Committee welcomes all colleagues working with organ transplantation, organ failure and organ donation in the Nordic countries to come to Oslo May 2nd-4th 2018 to present their work end exchange ideas and concepts.

Best regards,

Pål-Dag Line


Pål-Dag Line
Anna Varberg Reisæter
Hallvard Holdaas
Kirsten Muri Boberg
Tom H Karlsen
Per Arne Bakkan
Stein Foss
Urs Christen
Monika Olofsson
Käthe Meyer
Ingebjørg Kvangarsnes
Arnt E. Fiane
Einar Gude
Are Martin Holm
Inga Leuckfeld
Morten Hagness
Bjarte Fosby
Morten Skauby
Håkon Haugaa